GRANT COUNTY ECO WATERSHED PLANNING GROUP MARCH 17, 2015 MEETING

SUMMARY MINUTES BY VICKY ESTRADA

Community Wildfire Protection Plan (CWPP)

Ralph Pope gave a brief update on the CWPP and stated that hopefully by the end of the month he would have a draft.

Interstate Stream Commission (ISC)

Alex Thal gave a brief update about the ISC. Group discussed the importance of having regular representation of Eco-Watershed Planning Group at the ISC meetings, to ensure that priority projects identified by this planning group were incorporated into the ISC priority projects list.

Selection of Focus Area within Priority Project Area

Group reviewed the map and areas identified as potential focus areas within priority project area. Since the priority area identified (approx. 500,000 acres) was so large, the group agreed that it would select focus areas that would highlight where treatment was most needed. Five specific areas were identified and combinations of these areas were also considered. There included:

1) Burros; 2) Silver City and area north/northwest; 3) Pinos Altos and area west and north/northwest; 4) Georgetown; and 5) Upper Mimbres. Based on criteria used by the group during meeting discussion (greatest threat to fire given prevailing winds, WUI and partnership potential), the group decided to combine specific areas 2 and 3, renaming it the Pinos Altos/Silver City Focal Area.

New Membership Approval and Distribution of Planning Group Mission Statement and Organizational Guidelines

Chairmen Gabriel Ramos reviewed the list of approved members as well as the original Mission Statement and Organizational Guidelines. He then briefly explained the process for selection of members.

Selected membership included:

- Gabe Ramos
- Joseph Mondragon
- Gilbert Helton
- Martha Shumann Cooper
- Tonya Vowles
- Gordon West
- Ralph Pope
- Glenn Griffin
- Alex Thal

Meeting Participants Included:

Denisha Lucero

Glenn Griffin *

Gilbert Helton*

Mick Deubel

Alex Thai*

Monte Topmiller

Cody Robertson

Gabriel Partido

Tonya Vowles*

Diane Taliaferro

Randy Gomez

Art Telles

Fabian Montano

Randy Villa

Gerald Schultz

Ralph Pope*

Joseph Mondragon*

Gabriel Ramos*

Vicky Estrada

^{*}Grant County Eco Watershed Planning Group Members